ADNU College of Computer Studies

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Ateneo de Naga hosts the 11th Philippine Computing Science Congress

E-mail Print PDF

The Ateneo de Naga University hosted the 11th Philippine Computing Science Congress last 4-5 March 2011.  Dr. Eduardo Mendoza of Ludwig Maximilian University, Munich, Germany, is this year`s keynote speaker.  He gave a talk about Systems Biology and Bioinformatics, in particular, about "Building an Information Platform for Natural Products Research."  Dr. Art Graesser of University of  Memphis (USA), Dr. Ryan Baker and Dr. Joseph Beck of Worchester Polytechnic Institute (USA) are plenary speakers and talked about about Affective Learning Technologies.  Dr. Yung-Cheol Byun of Jeju National University (Korea) talked about Smart Grid computing in Korea.

Dr. Joel Marciano of UP Diliman, Dr. Kerdi Teknomo of Ateneo de Manila, Dr. Vladimir Mariano of UP Los Banos, Dr. Arnulfo Azcarraga of De La Salle University Manila are are plenary speakers.  Dr. Pablo Manalastas of Ateneo de Manila, Dr. Allan Sioson of Ateneo de Naga, Dr. Merlin Suarez of De La Salle University,  Jaderick Pabico of UP Los Banos, and Dave Marcial of Silliman University are invited parallel session speakers.

The special event was organized by the Computing Society of the Philippines (CSP) and the College of Computer Studies of Ateneo de Naga University.  PCSC 2011 is sponsored by the Department of Science and Technology and the Commission on Higher Education through the CHED COD Funding of the College of Computer Studies of Ateneo de Naga University.  The registration of a number of participants coming from various HEIs in Bicol was funded through the CHED-AdNU Program Cluster Implementer Project.

The conference Committee is composed of prominent researchers from Ateneo de Manila, Ateneo de Naga, De La Salle University, UP Diliman, and UP Los Banos.  Dr. Rafael Saldana, of the Ateneo de Manila University is the Conference Chair, Dr. Henry Adorna of the University of the Philippines-Diliman and Dr. Allan Sioson of  Ateneo de Naga University are Program Chairs. Dr. Sioson is this year`s local organizer.

The PCSC gave the students from various institutions an opportunity to interact and forge future collaborations with researchers through a series of lectures, workshops, and paper presentations.  A total of 90 research papers were submitted to double blind review process; 39 of which were accepted for oral presentation; 14 were invited to present as research in progress; 25 were accepted for poster presentation; 12 papers were rejected.  The acceptance rate is 43.33%

The research topics of the presented papers include Bioinformatics, Affect and Emphatic Computing, RF-IDs, Self-Organizing Maps, Multi-Agent Pedestrian Simulations, Election Software Certification, Stenography Systems, Human Computer Interaction, Fractal Compression, Digital Humanities, Computer Security and Decision Systems, Algorithms and Models of Computations (such as p-systems and pi-calculus), Image Processing, Visualization, Intelligent Systems and Information Systems, Robotics, and Networks.

The outgoing CSP President, Dr. Jaime D.L. Caro announced the newly elected board members of the Computing Society of the Philippines for School Year 2011-2012.

President :   Allan A. Sioson, PhD, of Ateneo de Naga University
Vice-President :  Arnulfo P. Azcarraga, PhD of De La Salle University
Secretary :   Dave E. Marcial,  of Silliman University
Treasurer :   Jaime D.L. Caro, PhD, of UP Diliman
Auditor :   Vladimir Y. Mariano, PhD, of UP Los Banos
Trustees :  Rafael P. Saldana, PhD, of Ateneo de Manila University
               Henry N. Adorna, PhD, of UP Diliman
               Rachel Edita O. Roxas, PhD, of De La Salle University
               Randy Gamboa, PhD, of University of Southeastern Philippines