ADNU College of Computer Studies

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
ADNU College of Computer Studies

Ateneo de Naga University’s Team ADNUHotshots is ALGOLYMPICS 2015 Champions.

E-mail Print PDF

The Department of Computer Science of the College of Computer Studies sent two programming teams to compete in ALGOLYMPICS 2015, a 3 hour competitive programming event. Team ADNUHotshots, composed of Kier Sostenes Guevara (BS CS), Kelly Milla (BS IT), and Francis Salvamante (BS IT), ranked first and solved 3 out of 8 problems. Team ADNU ZT11 composed of first year BS IT students Macky Caro III, Ram Pangindian, Justin Ryan Ayubo, ranked 8th and solved 1 out of 8 problems.

The coaches of ADNUHotshots and ADNU ZT11 are Jenilyn Agapito, Joshua Martinez, Jonathan Casano, and Polo Silvestre.

The University of the Philippines Association for Computing Machinery, University of the Philippines Diliman Student Chapter, Inc. (UP ACM), hosted ALGOLYMPICS 2015. Teams from all over the country are gathered in this event to test their skills in competitive programming. ALGOLYMPICS 2015 is patterned to the ACM Inter-Collegiate Programming Competition (ACM-ICPC) held worldwide every year. The competition proper was held last 21 February 2015 (Saturday) from 1pm-5pm at the Department of Computer Science, Alumni Engineers’ Centennial Hall, Velasquez St., University of the Philippines, Diliman, Quezon City.

ALGOLYMPICS 2015 is co-presented by Smart Communications, Accenture, Network Labs, Concentrix, Anino Playlabs, Icannhas, Kalibrr, DataOne, DevCon, and Avaloq, in cooperation with Aelogica and Azeus. This event is also brought to you by Stratpoint and endorsed by the Department of Science and Technology (DOST). The official media partner of ALGOLYMPICS 2015 is

Results of ALGOLYMPICS 2015 is available here:


Ateneo de Naga hosts the 7th Symposium on the Mathematical Aspects of Computer Science

E-mail Print PDF

Ateneo de Naga University, through the College of Computer Studies, hosts the seventh edition of the Symposium on the Mathematical Aspects of Computer Science (SMACS).  The Special Interest Group on Mathematical Aspects of Computer Science (SIG-MACS) of the Computing Society of the Philippines (CSP) organizes this Symposium once every two years.  This year's SMACS is divided into two parts: Workshop (24-26 November) and Seminar (27-28 November). The workshop is designed such that researchers and instructors/lecturers of computing and mathematical sciences could interact on selected topics. Topics of the workshop will be tutorial in character which would lead to possible research collaborations. A total of 13 research papers on the mathematical aspects of computer science will be presented during the seminar proper. The SMACS Workshop and Seminar will be held at the Madrigal Amphitheater, Ateneo de Naga University, Bagumbayan Campus.

The first edition of SMACS was held in 1997 at the University of the Philippines, College Baguio. The second was held in 2004 at the University of the Philippines - Baguio, the third in 2006 at Adventist University of the Philippines, Cavite, the fourth in 2008 at the University of the Philippines, Cebu Colleges, the fifth in 2010 at University of the Philippines, Los Banos, Laguna, and the sixth in Boracay Island, Malay, Aklan (La Carmela Resort and Hotel).


DACA won 8 Animahenasyon 2013 Awards

E-mail Print PDF
Students and Faculty members of the Department of Digital Arts and Computer Animation won seven awards in Animahenasyon 2013 held at West Visayas State University, Iloilo City last November 19-22, 2013. In their acceptance speech, the winners from ADNU with monetary prizes announced that they are donating half of their prize money to the victims of Super Typhoon Yolanda.


* Best Animated Musical Short Film - Panunuluyan by Jan-Vincent dela Vina (BSDIA)
* Best Animated Short Film Based on a Fantastic Story - Splat by Vincent Benjamin Reyta (BSDIA)
* Best Animated Music Video - DJ Bombay by Hygie Ochoa (BSDIA)
* Best Regional Entry - MTV: Sika Laeng Iti Biag by Mark Manuel Montero (BSDIA) and John Francis Infante (BSDIA)
* Best Educational Production Award - Advocacy TV Commercial: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle by Joanna Marie Agnas (BSDIA)
* Audience Choice Award - TV Commercial: Lego by Jose Vicente Atilano IV (BSDIA)


* Best Animated Short Film Based on a Philippine Folktale - Ang Lalong ni Kulakog by Omar Aguilar (DACA Faculty)
* Best Animated TV Commercial - It`s More Fun In The Philippines by John Francis Bozar (DACA Faculty)

DCS Faculty won ISCE 2014 Best Paper Award

E-mail Print PDF

The research paper of Jenilyn L. Agapito, Jonathan DL Casano, and Joshua C. Martinez, entitled "Xiphias: A Competitive Classroom Control System to Facilitate the Gamification of Academic Evaluation of Novice C++ Programmers" won the Best Paper Award during the International Symposium on Computing for Education (ISCE 2014) held at Crown Regency, Boracay, last October 24-25, 2014.  Agapito, Casano, and Martinez explore the gamification of instruction with respect to the evaluation of students' programming deliverables. They do this through Xiphias, a web software they developed for the use of students beginning to learn how to program using the C++ programming language. It is their intent to enhance engagement and learning of students through Xiphias. Agapito, Casano, and Martinez are faculty members of the Department of Computer Science.

The ISCE 2014 is organized by the Philippine Society of IT Educators, Inc.  Another paper co-authored by Joshua Martinez with Wenyville N. Galang of Bicol University entitled "Multi-Path Learning Evaluation Tool for Educators" was also presented during ISCE 2014.  Two papers authored by faculty members of the Digital Arts and Computer Animation were also presented during the said Symposium. The papers are "Towards the Creation of the Production Workflow of an Inspired 3D Animated Short" authored by Omar P. Aguilar and Fr. Danilo B. Isidro, SJ, and "Visual Communication Using Motion Design for Infographics" authored by John Francis Laurin V. Bozar and Fr. Danilo B. Isidro, SJ.


DCS Faculty Presented Papers in NCITE 2013

E-mail Print PDF

Marianne Ang, Jelly Aureus, and Adrian Pajarillo presented their respective research papers, which they co-authored with their advisers, during the 11th National Conference on IT Education (NCITE 2013) held in Villa Paraiso Resort, Camiguin last October 24 to 26, 2013. Allan Sioson co-authored a paper with Ronel Simon of Naga College Foundation and their paper was also presented in the same conference. NCITE 2013 is organized by the Philippine Society of IT Educators, Inc.

  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »

Page 1 of 5